House Names 33 Conferees

27-Apr-2012 As we reported last week, the House and Senate will conference on their two transportation bills to come to an agreement on the future of our nation’s transportation system.

The Hill reported the list of 33 conferees involved in the process. None are from Idaho, but include 20 Republicans and 13 Democrats.

Republican Conferees: Reps. John Mica (Fla.), Don Young (Alaska), John Duncan (Tenn.), Bill Shuster (Pa.), Shelley Moore Capito (W-Va.), Rick Crawford (Ark.), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), Larry Buschon (Ind.), Richard Hanna (N.Y.), Steve Southerland (Fla.), James Lankford (Okla.), Reid Ribble (Wis.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Ed Whitfield (Ky.), Doc Hastings (Wash.), Rob Bishop (Utah), Ralph Hall (Texas), Chip Cravaack (Minn.), Dave Camp (Mich.) and Patrick Tiberi (Ohio).

Democrat Conferees: Nick Rahall (W.Va.), Peter DeFazio (Ore.), Jerry Costello (Ill.), Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.), Corrine Brown (Fla.), Elijah Cummings (Md.), Leonard Boswell (Iowa), Tim Bishop (N.Y.), Henry Waxman (Calif.), Ed Markey (Mass.), Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas), Earl Blumenauer (Ore.) and Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D.C.).

“The House-Senate conference will have to sort out their differences on two dramatically different bills,” reported Pete Kasperowicz of The Hill. You may recall that the House bill, H.R. 4348, is a short-term extension of federal highway funds that now includes a requirement to approve the Keystone oil pipeline, whereas the Senate bill, S. 1813, is a two-year, $109 billion extension.


No Very

Captcha Image