Authorization Task Force Meets on Recommendations

16-Sep-2013 The task force and its five working groups— led by Co-Chairs Randall Chrisman, Dallas Area Rapid Transit; Carolyn Flowers, Charlotte Area Transit System; Carl Sedoryk, Monterey-Salinas Transit; Nuria Fernandez, New York City Metropolitan Transportation Authority; and Sharon Greene, HDR/Sharon Greene and Associates— have been conducting numerous meetings and conference calls since last December. APTA Legislative Committee Chair Jeff Nelson, Rock Island County Metropolitan Mass Transit District; APTA President & CEO Michael Melaniphy; and APTA Vice Chair Peter Varga, The Rapid, actively participated in the Chicago meeting, with some 60 task force members present and many more participating online and by phone.

The task force has generally agreed on recommending funding levels and other details that should be included in a six-year authorization bill for federal public transportation programs. APTA’s Legislative Committee has also been working on principles that call for a six-year federal program for investment in high-speed and intercity passenger rail. While the task force continues to work on a number of program issues, the meeting in Chicago was extremely productive. 

Nelson will brief the APTA Board of Directors on task force deliberations at the APTA Annual Meeting in Chicago on Sept. 28, and the full Legislative Committee will review task force progress at its meeting on Sept. 29. The task force recommendations are expected to go to the Legislative Committee for final review at its Dec. 5 meeting, with review by the APTA Board of Directors tentatively scheduled for the following day.


No Very

Captcha Image